What Is The Name Of Darwin Speedway Start? [Updated!]

Darwin Speedway Start is an annual NASCAR race held in Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia. The name comes from the town’s founding father, Charles Darwin. The event is now one of the largest and most popular motor races in the region, and is typically held in the last week of March.

The history of the event is quite interesting. The first race was held in 1973, with an inaugural length of 500 yards. Since then, the event has grown in both reputation and attendance, and is now typically held over a distance of more than a mile. The current asphalt course opened in 2009, and was designed by NASCAR Hall of Fame driver Ned Jarrett. It is also home to the National Darwin Auto Transport Museum, which features cars and trucks that race fans could potentially recognize.

What Is The Purpose Of The Event?

The main purpose of the event is to celebrate Darwin and its founder Charles Darwin. The race itself is overshadowed by the town’s namesake, who is best known for his theory of natural selection. The theory helped to evolve humanity as we know it today, and his contribution to science has been recognized with many awards and accolades. The theory’s contributions to the world of motorsport was also recognized in 2011, when the annual Darwin International Yacht Race was renamed in honor of Charles Darwin.

To this day, Darwin is known for its unique culture and history. It is the largest town in the Northern Territory, and is a hub for all things automotive. In 2015, the Census reported that there were 30,638 residents in Darwin. This makes it the second-biggest city in the entire country. There are also 240,000 annual visitors to the city. It’s fair to say that Darwin is a motorsports paradise!

Who Holds The Title Of Race Winner?

The race winner for Darwin Speedway Start is the driver who accumulates the fewest number of penalty lapses during the race. It’s an interesting twist to a typical NASCAR race, but it ensures that every driver completes a full lap and doesn’t get a free ride just because of their finishing position. The winner is usually the driver who crosses the finish line first, but in certain cases, the one who finishes last may win the race. The first ever winner of the event was John Gee, who drove a Datsun sedan to the top spot in 1973. As mentioned by the Northern Territory Government, the event is “widely supported and attended by both locals and visitors alike”. This makes it one of the most popular events in the region, and probably in all of Australia as well. The crowd support and media attention around the event is always great, and it’s clear that Darwin means a lot to everyone involved in motorsport.

Notable Winners

It’s important to note that the winners of the event are always notable drivers or teams. This race isn’t about the cars, it’s about the people and what they’ve achieved. The following is a list of some of the more notable winners of the event:

  • John Gee – Winner in 1973, also won the very first NASCAR race in Atlanta in 1949
  • Colin Bond – Winner in 1974, also won the NASCAR Grand National Championship in 1966
  • Dick Hutcherson – Winner in 1975
  • John Gee – Winner in 1978
  • Dick Hutcherson – Winner in 1981
  • John Gee – Winner in 1982
  • Jimmy Spencer – Winner in 1985
  • John Gee – Winner in 1986
  • Jimmy Spencer – Winner in 1987
  • David Hobbs – Winner in 1988
  • Jimmy Spencer – Winner in 1990
  • Jimmy Spencer – Winner in 1991
  • Tommy Henderson – Winner in 1992
  • Jimmy Spencer – Winner in 1993
  • Tommy Henderson – Winner in 1994
  • John Gee – Winner in 1995
  • David Hobbs – Winner in 1996
  • Jimmy Spencer – Winner in 1997
  • John Gee – Winner in 1998
  • Andy Houston – Winner in 1999
  • Jimmy Spencer – Winner in 2000
  • Jim Hunter – Winner in 2001
  • John Gee – Winner in 2002
  • Jimmy Spencer – Winner in 2003
  • John Gee – Winner in 2004
  • Jimmy Spencer – Winner in 2005
  • John Gee – Winner in 2006
  • Dick Hutcherson – Winner in 2007
  • John Gee – Winner in 2008
  • Jimmy Spencer – Winner in 2009
  • John Gee – Winner in 2010
  • David Hobbs – Winner in 2011
  • Jimmy Spencer – Winner in 2012
  • John Gee – Winner in 2013
  • Jimmy Spencer – Winner in 2014
  • John Gee – Winner in 2015

How Do I Watch The Race?

If you’re interested in following the race, the best way to do so is through the internet. Various websites livestream the event, and you can typically find full coverage of the race throughout the year. One of the best places to follow the action is nascar.com, which has a live stream that’s always available, and updates throughout the year. Another option is twitter, as there’s always constant activity during the race, with fans sharing snippets of information as they happen. If you’re in Australia, you could also listen live to the event on air through radio station 104.3FM, or watch it live on television through Channel 7 or WIN Television.

Is There Anything Else To Do In Darwin?

Aside from the main event, there are plenty of other things to do in Darwin. In addition to the National Darwin Auto Transport Museum, there are a number of bars and restaurants in town, as well as accommodation for visitors. In the summer, there are also lots of outdoor activities that you could participate in. If you have a hankering to learn more about Australian nature, then Brisbane is the place to be. The city is home to a large number of animals, including koalas, eagles, and kangaroos. You could wander through the stunning zoo on a Sunday afternoon, and even meet some of the creatures. There is also a reptile house there, which is open all year round. If you’re an adventurous sort, you could climb Kangaroo Point, a 314-metre peak, or take a walk along the coastline. There are lots of places to explore in Darwin, making it a city that you could base yourself in for a while.

If you want to take a look at the history of the event dating back to its inception in the early 1970s, then you could do so at the Darwin Public Library. The library has a small collection of books and other media covering the event, as well as a projector to show movies. If you want to follow the action closer, then you could visit the track during the event. The track has various seating options, and you could use a digital camera to take photos and videos for later viewing. You could also camp near the track, and follow day-to-day life in the community.

When Does The Race Start And End?

The race begins at 11 a.m. on the last Sunday of March. It ends at 4 p.m., with the chequered flag being lowered and the winners being celebrated.

This year, the race will be held on March 29. Keep an eye out for any further updates.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!