Who Has The Most Wins At Martinsville Speedway? [Expert Review!]

Located in Virginia, Martinsville Speedway is one of the most renowned racing circuits in the United States. Now in its 111th year, the speedway is home to the annual Cup race for the NASCAR Sprint Cup. Between its steep hillsides and dense forests, the speedway certainly lives up to its slogan of ‘America’s Most Legendary Racetrack’. Here, we’ll take a look at the top five drivers with the most wins at the Martinsville Speedway.

Carl Edwards

Though he has only driven at Martinsville once, Carl Edwards has managed to collect a decent amount of wins there. Edwards, who hails from Siler City, North Carolina, is one of only four drivers in NASCAR history to win on their first try at a new track. Having won seven races at the speedway, he is one of the most successful drivers at Martinsville since the track was rebuilt in the 1980s. Edwards currently competes in the Cup Series for Robert Yates Auto Group. After missing the Chase for the Cup in 2018, he returns as a championship contender in his native North Carolina in May.

Dale Earnhardt

The most successful driver in NASCAR history, Dale Earnhardt has won 22 times at Martinsville since the 1980s. Since that time, the iconic figure has returned to the speedway to collect numerous wins and establish himself as one of NASCAR’s all-time greats. With a short-lived retirement in the mid-2000s, Earnhardt returned to the track and won a championship there in 2016. In his first season back, he won three races, adding another three a year later. At the age of 77, Dale Earnhardt is competing in the final season of his illustrious career. On April 27, 2020, Earnhardt will be among the first drivers to celebrate a NASCAR Championship in over six decades as he competes in the Truck Series at Martinsville. He currently races for the JR Motorsports organization.

Steve Park

One of the most successful active drivers in NASCAR history, Steve Park has made a name for himself at Martinsville. After winning the pole position for the 1959 edition of the Cup race there, he went on to win the event that year and every year since. Known for his speed on intermediate tracks, Park has 21 career wins at the speedway. He currently drives the No. 6 truck for Joe Gibbs Racing. Park won the pole position in the first race held at Riverside (California) Speedway in 1960 and was named ‘Driver of the Year’ by NASCAR in 1962. He recently celebrated his 92nd birthday and is one of the circuit’s all-time greats. On September 20, 2020, he will be making his 94th consecutive start at Martinsville. If he were to retire today, he would be the first driver to ever achieve a sort of ‘double century’ at NASCAR’s premier series.

Joey Logano

Joey Logano is one of the most successful NASCAR drivers of the 21st century, having won the Cup Series in 2006, 2007, and 2011. A five-time winner of the prestigious Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Logano has also won the Silverado 400 at California and the Great American Race at Watkins Glen International. At the age of 27, Logano continues to evolve as one of NASCAR’s most popular and competitive drivers. In 2021, he will enter his seventh full season with Joe Gibbs Racing and looks to build on his already impressive resume.

Brad Keselowski

Brad Keselowski is one of the most recognizable figures in all of sports. The 35-year-old former NFL quarterback has a claim to fame not just for his on-field accomplishments but also for his viral touchdown dance that has gone viral itself. Now an accomplished car racer, Keselowski has won a NASCAR Cup Series championship and currently drives for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series team. Since entering the series in 2010, Keselowski has collected 16 wins at Martinsville. This year, he will be seeking to become the first driver to win the event in consecutive years since Dale Earnhardt in the early 2000s.

Kyle Busch

Kyle Busch is one of the most popular and successful NASCAR drivers of the 21st century, having won seven Cup Series races and two championships. After winning both the Spring Showdown and the Summer Clash at Talladega Superspeedway in 2019, Busch looks to establish himself as a player to be reckoned with in the 2021 season. He currently races for the Joe Gibbs Racing team and holds the record for the most wins at the Martinsville Speedway – 16. In addition to his on-track success, Busch is also known for his high-profile personal life. He got engaged to singer/songwriter Julia Michaels in December 2019 and is scheduled to get married in June 2022.

Kyle Larson

Last but not least, we arrive at the most successful driver in the history of the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. Though he has one win at Martinsville, Kyle Larson continues to prove that he is one of the most talented and competitive trucks drivers in the series. The 25-year-old from Bayside, New York, is currently in the midst of his first full season in the series. He is driving the No. 33 for Penske Racing and has collected two wins, including the prestigious Spring Blitz, where he became the first driver to win on both dirt and paved roads in the same season. In 2020, he will be looking to add to his ever-growing resume of success at one of NASCAR’s most historic tracks.

As you can see, the list of winners at the Martinsville Speedway is pretty impressive. Of course, today’s list includes many Hall of Famers, like Dale Earnhardt, Joey Logano, and Kyle Busch. There were also several winners from the early 2000s that you may not have heard of – like Steve Park, who has won the event a record 21 times, and Joey Logano, who has seven wins at the speedway. Before those two, there was Jimmy Spencer, who won the event six times between 1953 and 1958. Many of the drivers on this list have been successful at the Martinsville Speedway because of their speed. It’s a track that favors drivers that can navigate its hillsides and tight corners quickly and accurately. When the surface is good, it’s a favorite of NASCAR’s all-time greats. Unfortunately, the track has seen its share of bad weather and surface issues, which has kept it off the schedule more than it’s been on it. Hopefully, with the right funding and some good old-fashioned hard work, the track will be ready to host some exciting racing in the near future.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!