Who Owns Daytona International Speedway? [Solved!]

Daytona International Speedway is a race track in Daytona Beach, Florida, United States. Since February 1955, the speedway has been the site of several major American automotive races. Now, over 60 years later, the famous tri-oval still hosts big-name events like the Daytona 500 and the season opener for the NASCAR Cup Series. As the “granddaddy of auto racing,” the Daytona International Speedway continues to be one of the most important venues for motorsport fans across North America.

Naming Rights

The naming rights for the Daytona International Speedway were originally sold to the Santal Brummel Agency in the 1950s. The company, which was a subsidiary of the A. Schaeffer Brewing Company at the time, also marketed the NASCAR races that were held at the track. Over the years, the A. Schaeffer Brewing Company changed its name to Anheuser-Busch, and Santal Brummel became Anheuser-Busch Advertising, Inc. In 2005, the rights to the name “Daytona International Speedway” were sold to Triple C Brewing Co. for an undisclosed amount of money. Since then, fans have been able to enjoy the unique experience of watching racing at the world-class track while drinking a local craft beer.


The Daytona International Speedway was originally built in 1928 and went through several major renovations before it was officially opened in February 1955. The track originally seated 50,000 spectators and featured 18 holes of golf. The Daytona Beach Board of Public Works approved the construction of a racetrack in January 1928, as part of a larger plan to update Daytona Beach’s beaches and roads. It was designed by renowned Canadian architect Arthur Brown, and its first public race was held on February 17, 1955. Brown’s design features a main grandstand that runs adjacent to the starting grid and paddock area, with a capacity of 250,000. In addition to the main grandstand, the racetrack also features a smaller upper grandstand, which can hold up to 25,000 spectators, and an overflow grandstand that can hold an additional 50,000 spectators. The speedway continues to host major races, including the Daytona 500, as well as a variety of minor events.

Major Races And Events

The Daytona International Speedway has been the site of several notable American auto races and events over the years. Some of the major races and events that have been held at the track include:

  • 1955–present: Daytona 500
  • 1956–present: Busch Grand Nationals
  • 1958: Grand Prix of America
  • 1962: National Sports Car Championship (NASCAR) Grand National Championship
  • 1965: Grand Prix of America
  • 1967: Grand Prix of America
  • 1969–present: Daytona International 200
  • 1970: Busch Grand Nationals
  • 1975: Grand Prix of America
  • 1979: Busch Grand Nationals
  • 1987: Daytona 500
  • 1988: NASCAR Sports Car Championship
  • 1990: Daytona 500
  • 1991: Busch Grand Nationals
  • 1992: Busch Grand Nationals
  • 1994: Busch Grand Nationals
  • 1996–present: Daytona 500
  • 1998: Busch Grand Nationals
  • 2001: NASCAR Truck Series Championship
  • 2002: Busch Series Championship
  • 2003: Grand Prix of Miami
  • 2004: Daytona 500
  • 2005: Busch Grand Nationals
  • 2006: Busch Series Championship
  • 2007: NASCAR Cup Series Championship
  • 2008: NASCAR Cup Series Championship
  • 2009: NASCAR Cup Series Championship
  • 2010: NASCAR Cup Series Championship
  • 2011: Daytona 500
  • 2012: Grand Prix of Houston
  • 2013: NASCAR Cup Series Championship

The Future

The future of the Daytona International Speedway looks pretty good, as long as the economy of Florida continues to grow. The Florida Office of Tourism projects that the tourism industry in Florida will generate an estimated 21.6 billion USD in economic activity by 2020.

The Daytona International Speedway is a shining example of how a racing venue can serve as a major draw for tourists, especially to Florida. While other venues in the state of Florida may not have the name recognition of the speedway, the potential for growth is clearly there.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!