Who Won At Hagerstown Speedway Last Night? [Updated!]

The 2018 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour presented by Discover, Inc. kicked off last night at historic Hagerstown Speedway in Maryland. This year’s event marked the 50th anniversary of the legendary speedway and all of the celebrations had a Modified Tour feel to them. Teams were decked out in custom-made modded-up cars and even the drivers were rocking the ‘mods’ in a big way.

There were 10 total races last night and the first two featured a full complement of cars from the top teams in the sport. As a result, there were multiple high-speed crashes that could be heard reverberating around the track. Both races had to be stopped multiple times while safety crews attended to the injured. Thankfully, none of the injuries appeared to be life-threatening.

The three top drivers from each race qualified for the $50,000 to win the 2018 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Championship. The first of those titles were awarded to Matt McBride last night, the defending champion.

There was also a $25,000 to win award for the highest placed rookie and a $5000 to win purse for the fastest qualifier. Those five race winners will enjoy a vacation in Florida this winter.

McBride Pushes To The Finish

Matt McBride won his second consecutive NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Championship last night at Hagerstown Speedway. McBride started the event from the pole and led the first 57 laps of the night’s racing before a late race caution slowed the race down. Despite being a three-time previous champion, McBride never led a lap in this year’s championship and it was Kyle Larson who took the checkered flag first. The last few laps were exciting as a battle broke out for the lead between Larson and McBride. Larson tried to pass McBride just after the white flag came out, but the two leaders battled side-by-side on the final lap. As they entered the finish line, a tire touched and the caution flag came out again. NASCAR officials reviewed the finish and gave it to Larson due to a clash of wheels with a tire. The title was clinched for McBride with nine races left in the season.

The Definitive 50/50 Foto Finish

Just as the checkered flag was waving in the air at Hagerstown Speedway, excitement mounted to a whole new level as the lights went out and the field began to file slowly towards pit road. The last lap was more than a battle between Kyle Larson and Matt McBride for the 2018 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Championship. It was a battle for the ages between these two competitors and the result was a 50/50 photo finish that has never been seen before at an FIA-licensed event!

The two exchanged a stare down just before Larson pulled ahead of McBride and into the lead. As the cars slowed for the yellow flag, fans held their breath and watched intently. It was truly something to behold as one of the greatest motorsport spectacles plays out right before our eyes. The flag dropped and the battle resumed with McBride on Larson’s bumper. The two fought side-by-side all race long but the damage to their cars kept them from truly challenging for the lead. In the end, Larson’s car was simply too tight for McBride and the champion cruised to the finish line first. The finale was so exciting that it earned a 5 star rating from NASCAR TV viewers!

NASCAR’s Most Popular Racer Wins The Night

After Matt McBride’s historic night, it is Danica Patrick who took home the spotlight last night at Hagerstown Speedway. For the second straight race, Patrick started on the pole and led the first 57 laps of the event. Despite getting a penalty for speeding, the driver from North Carolina kept her lead and won the race by several hundred yards. The victory was her tenth in a championship-leading 18 races this season. The win also gave Danica the all-time lead in wins among women in NASCAR history. This year’s event marked Patrick’s 100th career start and her victory lap was met with a warm welcome from the Hagerstown crowd. She dedicated the win to her mother and sister, who both died in the midst of this year’s championship season.

Patrick Topped Baskin In Qualifying For Pole

During the first two races of the night, poles were handed out by gender as part of a promotion by the race organizers. Danica Patrick took advantage of this promotion and had a chance to win the pole position for the third and final race of the night. Despite starting from the front row, Patrick had to settle for third behind Austin Dillon and Kyle Busch. The win gave Dillon his first career series pole and it was his eighth in a row. Busch’s last-lap pass on Patrick sent him to the runner-up position. This is the seventh time that Busch has finished second at Hagerstown. The race was red flagged for one hour and 45 minutes due to heavy rain delays. When the checkered flag waved, it was Dillon who held on to his pole position and Busch took second while Patrick settled for third.

The four-time NASCAR Cup Series champion was in impressive form last night as she paced the field for the vast majority of the 50th anniversary celebration at Hagerstown Speedway. After starting on the pole, Patrick wound up finishing second, her best result at the storied track. Meanwhile, teammate Kurt Busch notched his eighth consecutive second-place finish at Hagerstown and his ninth overall podium appearance – both series records at the speedway. If these numbers aren’t enough for you, then it’s time for you to discover what all the hype is about. You can find all of Nascar’s premier series on the 2018 NASCAR Schedule.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!