Who Won Race Today At Texas Motor Speedway? [Answered!]

Some days are just better than others. Today was one of them. We were treated to a treatise on racing, a clinic on how to pass a drug test, and a race that was a real battle-royal. What more could anyone ask for?

But who won the race? Was it Brad Keselowski or Joey Logano? Was it a battle of wits or brawn? Let’s take a closer look.

Brad Keselowski Wins The NASCAR Sprint Cup

Yes, the former world champion came back from a two-race layoff to win his first race of the season and the first for Team Penske since 2004. He started from the pole and led every lap of the 312-mile marathon. He also won the pole at the Daytona 500 — giving the four-time champion a hat trick of victories this year. But let’s talk about today’s race.

Keselowski had plenty of support from other contenders, namely Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick, and Carl Edwards. He fought back from a late-race collision that collected him and three other cars. But in the final laps, he managed to hold off a hard-charging Logano and finish with a 19-second margin of victory.

Joey Logano’s Championship-Worth Win Is Small In Comparison

In the other corner, we have Logano, who started from the pole for the Daytona 500 but finished 11th. We’ll go ahead and assume that’s an improvement. He also won the race in 2014 and finished second in 2013. But when it comes to betting odds, we’re talking major underdogs here. Bets were offered at +500, and you’d have to bet $100 to win $100. Talk about a long shot.

There were so many shocking moments today: Logano’s opening lap crash, Kurt Busch’s spin on the final lap, Brian Scott’s frightening tumble across the finish line in 21st place. But none more so than Tony Romo’s epic fail when he tried to give Chad Knaus a ride to the end. We’ll leave you with this parting shot:

  • Keselowski’s victory was historic, as he became the first driver to win the NASCAR Sprint Cup in four consecutive years since Richard Petty in 1970-1973.
  • Keselowski’s win also ended a 15-race winless drought that dated back to the start of the 2014 season. He also became the first driver to win at least three races in a row since Dale Earnhardt in 1999.
  • Carl Edwards, who finished third, won his third race of the season, while Dale Earnhardt Jr. won his second. He joined Richard Petty, Jeff Gordon, and Kevin Harvick as the only four-time winners this year.
  • Kyle Busch (second) and Matt Kenseth (third) each picked up their first top-five finish of the year.
  • Keselowski’s win was his third Daytona 500 pole, which makes him the most consistent driver at Daytona. He now leads the season series with seven poles and nine wins.
  • Team Penske became the first defending champion to win in back-to-back seasons since Jeff Gordon in 1999 and 2000. With this latest win, Earnhardt joins a select group of drivers that have won five or more races in a single season (seven wins):
    • Richard Petty
    • Dale Earnhardt
    • Bill Elliott
    • Jimmy Johnson
    • Bill France, Jr.

    So what do you think, who had the better race? Brad or Joey? Feel free to leave us a comment and let us know!

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!